George Jones Joins The Allman Brothers Band, Glen Campbell, Antonio Carlos Jobim, The Memphis Horns, Diana Ross And Gil Scott-Heron As Honorees Of The Recording Academy® Lifetime Achievement Award

Dave Bartholomew, Steve Jobs And Rudy Van Gelder Honored With Trustees Award

Celemony And Roger Nichols To Receive Technical Grammy Award®

The Recording Academy® ( announced its Special Merit Awards recipients today, and this year’s selections are: the Allman Brothers Band, Glen Campbell, Antonio Carlos Jobim, George Jones, The Memphis Horns, Diana Ross and Gil Scott-Heron as Lifetime Achievement Award recipients; Dave Bartholomew, Steve Jobs and Rudy Van Gelder as Trustees Award honorees; and Celemony and Roger Nichols as Technical GRAMMY Award® honorees. The special invitation-only ceremony will be held during GRAMMY® Week on Saturday, Feb. 11, 2012, and a formal acknowledgment will be made during the 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast, which will be held at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 12, 2012, and broadcast live at 8 p.m. ET/PT on the CBS Television Network. For breaking news and exclusive content, join the organization’s social networks as a Twitter follower at, a Facebook fan at, and aYouTube channel subscriber at

“This year’s honorees offer a variety of brilliance, contributions and lasting impressions on our culture,” said President/CEO of The Recording Academy Neil Portnow. “It is an honor to recognize such a diverse group of individuals whose talents and achievements have had an indelible impact on our industry.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording while the Trustees Award recognizes such contributions in areas other than performance. Both awards are determined by vote of The Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees. Technical GRAMMY Award recipients are determined by vote of The Academy’s Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter Committees as well as The Academy’s Trustees. The award is presented to individuals and companies who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording field.

About the Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees:
As pioneers of Southern rock, The Allman Brothers Band created a unique sound blending elements of blues, country, jazz and rock. Known for their outstanding improvisational and jam-style shows, the band’s breakthrough album, 1971′s At Fillmore East, is a definitive live concert recording. The band has achieved artistic and commercial success with hits such as “Whipping Post,” “Ramblin’ Man” and “Jessica,” the latter having earned them a 1995 GRAMMY for Best Rock Instrumental Performance. In 1995 the group was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

During his 50-plus years in show business, five-time GRAMMY winner Glen Campbell has released more than 70 albums. In 1967 he won GRAMMYs in both country and pop categories for his hits “Gentle On My Mind” and “By The Time I Get To Phoenix,” respectively. Campbell has three recordings in the GRAMMY Hall Of Fame and has also been inducted to the Country Music Hall of Fame. He was also a member of the famed Wrecking Crew, Los Angeles’ group of top studio musicians in the ’60s. In 2011 he released his farewell album, Ghost On The Canvas, which featured collaborations with Jakob Dylan, Chris Isaak and Billy Corgan, among others.

Widely known as the composer of the GRAMMY-winning “The Girl From Ipanema,” arranger, singer and pianist/guitarist Antonio Carlos Jobim* was influential in the creation of the Brazilian bossa nova style and its international popularity. His songs and arrangements have been performed by numerous artists around the world. In 1995 he won a posthumous Best Latin Jazz Performance GRAMMY for his album Antonio Brasileiro.

Trumpeter Wayne Jackson and tenor saxophonist Andrew Love comprise one of the greatest and most recorded horn sections, The Memphis Horns. Early in their career, the duo appeared on nearly every Stax Records recording, helping the label define its sound. Known for their unique funk/soul style, the Musicians Hall of Fame inductees have appeared on recordings for artists such as Al Green, Elvis Presley, Otis Redding, and U2.

As one of the most prolific country artists in history, George Jones has had more than 150 hits over his half-century career. From honky tonk to country ballads, he has remained at the top of the charts with hits such as “White Lightning,” “He Stopped Loving Her Today” and “Still Doin’ Time.” Jones is a two-time GRAMMY winner, Country Music Hall of Fame inductee and a Kennedy Center Honors recipient. At 80 years old, he continues to tour, playing more than 60 shows each year.

In the 1960s Diana Ross led Motown act the Supremes, one of America’s most successful vocal groups. In the 1970s, Ross began her solo career and had continued success with hits such as “Love Hangover,” “Upside Down” and “Missing You.” In her nearly 50 years in the entertainment business, she has sold more than 100 million albums and has received a number of accolades for her work, including a Golden Globe and Tony Award and has been a Kennedy Center Honors recipient. Ross recently toured the country with her More Today Than Yesterday tour and will continue touring into 2012.

With his unique fusion of jazz, blues and spoken word, Gil Scott-Heron* ‘smusic influenced the creation of the rap genre. The first artist signed to Arista Records, his recordings such as “Johannesburg” and “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” were known for their sharp lyrics that commented on social and political issues. His songs also helped tell stories of African-Americans in the United States. Scott-Heron continued to record up until his death in 2011, releasing his most recent album, I’m New Here, in 2010.

Source: Webster & Associates

George Jones Photo Provided by Webster & Associates

This entry was posted in Announcements, Featured Stories, Top Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.