NASHVILLE – Jack Greene, a beloved member of the Grand Ole Opry, was present at the announcement Tuesday of the final nominees for “The 45th Annual CMA Awards” at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Greene, who was CMA’s first CMA Male Vocalist of the Year in 1967, used the occasion of the 45th anniversary of the CMA Awards to present CMA with his original trophies for Male Vocalist, Single of the Year for “There Goes My Everything,” and Album of the Year for There Goes My Everything, released on Decca Records. The original walnut trophies featured a note-shaped medallion on a marble base with engraved plates and were a precursor to today’s crystal version.

“My CMA Awards were one of the highlights of my 60-year career in Country Music,” said Greene. “I have enjoyed having them on display in my home for many years and I feel that now, being the 45th year of the CMA Awards was a great time to share them with all who love Country Music as I do.”

“It was a wonderful gesture on his part and a terrific opportunity as we announce this year’s nominees to recognize the pioneering artists who paved the way,” said Steve Moore, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “These CMA Award are a treasured part of our history and we are honored to receive them from Mr. Greene.”

“The 45th Annual CMA Awards” will be hosted for the fourth time by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood and broadcast live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Wednesday, Nov. 9 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network.

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by the 6,400 industry professional members of CMA, which was the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music in 1958. The first CMA Awards Banquet and Show was held in 1967 at Nashville’s Municipal Auditorium. The following year, the CMA Awards moved to the Ryman Auditorium and were broadcast for the first time on the NBC Television Network – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network television. The show aired on NBC through 1971 and on the CBS Television Network from 1972 through 2005 before moving to ABC in 2006.

Source: Country Music Association

About the photo: (l-r) Sony Music Nashville Chairman and CEO and CMA Board President Gary Overton; Greene; Gaylord Entertainment Senior Vice President of Media and Entertainment and CMA Board Chairman Steve Buchanan / Photo by John Russell / CMA / Provided by Country Music Association

This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.